rss feed

Archive: May, 2013

Isinglass Award

The winner of the 2012-2013 Isinglass Award is Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Nominees to be voted on April 2014 are:

Enclave, by Ann Aguirre
Witchlanders, by Lena Coakley
In a Heartbeat, by Loretta Ellsworth
Losing It, by Erin Fry
The Warrior’s Heart, by Eric Greitens
Origin, by Jessica Khoury
Insignia, by S.J. Kincaid
Crazy Dangerous, by Andrew Klavan
The Killing Sea, by Richard Lewis
Throne of Glass, by Sarah Maas
Cinder, by Marissa Meyer
Ghost of Graylock, by Dan Poblocki
Auracle, by Gina Rosati
Revolution 19, by Gregg Rosenblum
Endangered, by Eliot Schrefer

Visit the Isinglass site for a printable brochure, booksmarks, tally slips, and more info.


2014 Flume Award Nominees and Timeline

The 2014 nominees are:

Across the Universe – Beth Revis
Ask the Passengers – A. S. King
Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein
Death Cloud – Andy Lane
The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
Heist Society – Ally Carter
Monument 14 – Emmy Laybourne
Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater
Ready Player One – Ernest Cline
Shadows on the Moon – Zoe Marriott

Flume Award Timeline of Events for Librarians

Promote the following year’s list of ten books selected in April. Using templates, make and distribute bookmarks, do a display, etc.

Solicit nominations from teens for the next Flume Award cycle (two calendar years from December.  So, if it is December 2013, you will be asking for suggestions for the 2015 nominees.)

Continue to promote the current Flume Award list of nominees.

Encourage teens to vote for their favorite book on the list. Create your own ballots/voting system.

April-May voting deadline
Tally votes and send vote tally to Ann Hoey.

Winner of current year’s Flume Award announced.  Next year’s list of nominees announced and promotional materials are put up on website.  Order new titles.   Collaborate with school/public library counterpart to plan promotion and voting.

2013 Flume Award Winner

The 2013 Winner of the Flume Award is: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Teen Video Challenge Winner

Congratulations to the winner of the 2013 NH Teen Video Challenge, Windham’s Niki Kuchipudi!

Click here to learn more about the entry and the award.
See Niki’s video, as well as the winning videos from other states, by visiting the CSLP website.